Please wait ...

Board of Directors

The Company and the Group are committed to high standards of corporate governance and the Board is accountable to the Company's shareholders for good corporate governance.

Donald BrydonDonald Brydon CBE


Donald joined the Board in July 2012 and became Chairman on 1 September 2012. He is also Chairman of the London Stock Exchange and the Medical Research Council and was, until 1 September 2015, Chairman of the Royal Mail plc, and until 19 November 2013, Chairman of Smiths Group plc. Donald had a 20-year career with Barclays Group, during which time he was Chairman and Chief Executive of BZW Investment Management and acting Chief Executive of BZW followed by fifteen years with the AXA Group including holding the posts of Chairman and Chief Executive of AXA Investment Managers and Chairman of AXA Framlington. He has also recently chaired the London Metal Exchange, Amersham plc, Taylor Nelson Sofres plc and the ifs School of Finance and is a past Chairman of EveryChild. He has also served as Senior Independent Director of Allied Domecq plc and Scottish Power plc.

Stephen KellyStephen Kelly

Chief Executive Officer

Stephen Kelly became Chief Executive of Sage in November 2014. He has over 30 years’ leadership experience in the technology sector having led successful businesses in California, New York and Europe. Stephen is unique having served as Chief Executive Officer of two high growth, US & UK public companies - NASDAQ listed Chordiant Software, Inc. from 2001 to 2005 and London Stock Exchange listed Micro Focus International plc. from 2006 to 2010, where the company achieved a 7-fold increase in market value over the 4 years. In 2012 he was appointed Chief Operating Officer for UK Government. Stephen was the most senior Executive responsible for UK Government’s Efficiency & Reform Program - Digital, Commercial, IT, Major Projects and SME strategies. The program improved services to UK citizens whilst saving the UK taxpayer over £14bn in 13/14 (compared with 2010 base year).

Stephen has a passion for Small & Medium Businesses and acted as an angel investor for multiple start-ups.

Stephen loves sport and is married with three daughters. 

You can follow Stephen on @SKellyCEO.

Steve HareSteve Hare

Group Chief Financial Officer

Steve joined Sage in January 2014, having previously been Operating Partner and Co-Head of the Portfolio Support Group at the private equity firm Apax Partners, which he joined in 2009. Prior to this he built over 10 years’ experience leading the finance function for three listed UK companies culminating as CFO for FTSE 100 company Invensys plc, the global technology-related business, from 2006 to 2009. Between 2004 and 2006 Steve was Group Finance Director for Spectris plc, the FTSE 250 precision instrumentation and controls company and from 1997 to 2003 he was with Marconi PLC, acting as CFO from 2001.

Steve qualified as a Chartered Accountant in 1985 with Ernst & Whinney, now part of Ernst & Young, and has a Bachelor of Commerce degree from Liverpool University.

You can follow Steve on @SteveHareCFO

Soni JiandaniSoni Jiandani

Non-executive director

Soni is the former SVP Marketing of Cisco. During her 22 years at the company she was part of a team which was responsible for a number of successes and helped establish multi-billion dollar revenue streams for the company in the Switching, Storage Networking and Server markets. She was also part of the teams that established start-ups which Cisco first funded and later acquired entering new adjacent markets and building successful businesses. Prior to joining Cisco, Soni was a marketing executive at UB Networks and prior to that she was with Excelan which was acquired by Novell. Soni joined the Board on 28 February 2017 and is also a member of the Nomination Committee.

Neil BerkettNeil Berkett

Independent non-executive director

Neil joined the Board on 5 July 2013. He is also Chairman of the Guardian Media Group, a member of the Board of Trustees of the NSPCC and until recently was a board member at Bank of Queensland Ltd. He has over 25 years’ experience in a wide range of highly competitive consumer industries. Most recently, he was Chief Executive of Virgin Media Group from March 2008 to June 2013, having joined ntl, Virgin Media’s predecessor, as Chief Operating Officer in September 2005. Before ntl he was Managing Director, Distribution, at Lloyds TSB plc (UK). His previous roles include Chief Operating Officer at Prudential Assurance Company Ltd UK, Head of Retail at St George Bank, Senior General Manager at the Australian division of Citibank Limited, Chief Executive at Eastwest Airlines Australia and Financial Controller at ICL Australia.

Jonathan HowellJonathan Howell

Independent non-executive director

Jonathan joined the Board on 15 May 2013 and became Chairman of the Audit Committee in November 2013. He is also Group Finance Director of Close Brothers Group plc, joining in February 2008 and previously held the same position at the London Stock Exchange Group plc since 1999. Jonathan has also been a non-executive director of EMAP plc and Chairman of FTSE International. The early part of his career was at Price Waterhouse where he qualified as a chartered accountant.

Drummond HallDrummond Hall

Independent non-executive director

Drummond joined the Board on 1st January 2014 and is a member of the Remuneration, Audit and Nomination Committees. He is currently the Senior Independent non-executive director of WH Smith plc. Previously Drummond was Chief Executive of Dairy Crest Group plc from 2002 to 2006, prior to which the majority of his career was spent with Procter and Gamble, Mars and PepsiCo. Drummond was a Non-executive Director of Mitchells & Butlers plc from July 2004 to January 2010 and Chairman from June 2008 to November 2009.

Date Document
September 2016 Matters Reserved for the Board (adopted September 2016)
November 2016 Role of the Chairman and Chief Executive