Sage logo

Sage Circle of Excellence Accounting Awards­

Recognizing and celebrating accountants, bookkeepers and their small business clients making a positive impact on their communities or the accounting profession.
Circle of Excellence logo

It’s time to be recognized!

Now in its second year, the Sage Circle of Excellence Accounting Awards is all about recognizing and celebrating you – the Sage accountant and bookkeeper community. Join us in acknowledging the hard work and dedication you have shown your clients, your practice and your community by nominating yourselves or any deserving accountant or bookkeeper in one or several of the award categories below.

Also new this year is the Small Business of the Year award. As an accountant or bookkeeper, you have tremendous insight into your clients’ small business. In this category, you as a Sage accountant or bookkeeper can nominate your small business clients for their business innovation and community impact.

We look forward to learning more about the exciting stories of your practice and your clients. Get nominating!

Congratulations to all the winners of the 2020 Sage Circle of Excellence Accounting Awards!

Andree Dube

Andrée Dubé

Alan Salmon Lifetime Achievement Award

Longueuil, QC

John O’Keefe

Accountant Partner of the Year

O’Keefe Accounting Group
Port Hope, ON

Sara Gibb

Bookkeeper Partner of the Year

Flow Works Bookkeeping and Consulting
Chemainus, BC

Tamara Goddard

Small Business of the Year

Four Our Future Indigenous Economics Ltd.
North Vancouver, BC

Cheryl-Lynn Schaefer

Innovator Award

Now Bookkeeping
Kelowna, BC

Bianca Mueller

Bianca Mueller

Social Influencer Award

Books by Bianca
Burnaby, BC

Anna Abbruzzese

Anna Abbruzzese

Trainer of the Year

Actium Consulting Inc.
Toronto, ON

The 2020 Class of Circle Members

youtube video player


Finalists and winners will be judged by a diverse group of panelists.

Yan Yan Lee

Yan-Yan Lee

Senior Director, Finance
Ronald McDonald House British 
Columbia & Yukon

Valoree McKay

Valoree McKay, CAE

CPB Canada (formerly IPBC)

Steve Ryujin, VP Small Business, Sage

Steve Ryujin

VP Small Segment Canada
Doretta Thompson

Doretta Thompson, BA, CAPA

Financial Literacy Leader
Director, Corporate Citizenship
Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada

Brendan Woods

Brendan Woods

Vice President

Eligibility, Nomination Process, Winner Selection

  • Nominees do not need to be Sage Accountant Network members, however nominees must support and use Sage products.
  • Small Business of the Year nominees must be supported by an accountant or bookkeeper that uses Sage products.
  • Nominees can nominate themselves.
  • Nominators can nominate multiple nominees.
  • Employees of software companies cannot be nominated.
  • Nominees should be based in Canada.
  • Nominees may be nominated for a maximum of two categories. If nominees are nominated for more than two award categories, once nominations close, nominees will be contacted about which category they would like to keep their nominations in. 
  • Previous winners are ineligible for the category they have already won in. 
  • To nominate, nominators must provide the following information in the nomination form: nominees' full name, nominees’ contact details and a short write-up (approximately 200 words) explaining why the nominee is deserving or embodies the award.
  • Once a nomination form is submitted, nominees will be notified via email.
  • Nominees have the option to decline the nomination and be removed from consideration.
  • The deadline for nomination form submissions is June 26, 2020 11:59 pm PT.
  • Nominators are anonymous. 
  • Once nominations close, all nomination profiles with references to specific names and companies will be substituted with generic names and companies (e.g. XYZ Company) for judging purposes only. All genders references will also be removed. 
  • A panel of independent judges will rank nomination write-ups based on its embodiment of the award.
  • The three highest ranked nomination write-ups will be the finalists in each award category.
  • The highest ranked nomination write-ups will be the winner in each award category.
  • The Alan Salmon Lifetime Achievement Award is selected by a panel of Sage staff.