search icon

Board of Directors


Board of directors

The Company and the Group are committed to high standards of corporate governance and the Board is accountable to the Company’s shareholders for good corporate governance.

Sir Donald Brydon CBE, Sage Chairman

Sir Donald Brydon CBE


Sir Donald joined the Board in July 2012 and became Chairman on September 1, 2012. He is also Chair of the Nomination Committee. Donald is currently chairman of the Legacy Council of the Medical Research Council, has recently chaired the London Stock Exchange, and was a past Chairman of the Royal Mail plc, Smiths Group plc, the London Metal Exchange, Amersham plc, Taylor Nelson Sofres plc, the ifs School of Finance and EveryChild. He has also served as Senior Independent Non-Executive Director of Allied Domecq plc and Scottish Power plc. 

Donald had a 20-year career with Barclays Group, during which time he was Chairman and Chief Executive of BZW Investment Management and acting Chief Executive of BZW, followed by 15 years with the AXA Group, where he held the positions of Chairman and Chief Executive of AXA Investment Managers and Chairman of AXA Framlington. 

Steve Hare

Chief Executive Officer

Steve joined Sage in January 2014, having previously been Operating Partner and Co-Head of the Portfolio Support Group at the private equity firm Apax Partners, which he joined in 2009. Prior to this, he built over 10 years’ experience leading the finance function for three listed UK companies, culminating as CFO for FTSE 100 company Invensys plc, the global technology-related business, from 2006 to 2009. Between 2004 and 2006, Steve was Group Finance Director for Spectris plc, a FTSE 250 precision instrumentation and controls company. From 1997 to 2003, he was with Marconi PLC, acting as CFO from 2001 onwards.

Steve became a Chartered Accountant in 1985 with Ernst & Whinney, now part of Ernst & Young, and has a Bachelor of Commerce degree from Liverpool University.

You can follow Steve on @SteveHare

Jonathan Howell

Chief Financial Officer

Jonathan joined the Board as an Independent, Non-Executive Director on May 15, 2013, and served as Chairman of the Audit Committee from November 2013 to December 2018. Jonathan was subsequently appointed Chief Financial Officer of Sage on December 4, 2018, having recently left the role of Group Finance Director of Close Brothers Group plc, which he held for 10 years. Prior to that, he had held the same position at the London Stock Exchange Group plc since 1999. Jonathan was also a Non-Executive Director of EMAP plc and Chairman of FTSE International. The early part of his career was spent at Price Waterhouse, where he became a Chartered Accountant.

Sangeeta Anand

Independent non-executive director
A senior software technology leader with extensive experience in driving P&L, catalyzing growth, and transforming product portfolios to capture the cloud opportunity, Sangeeta joined the Board on May 1, 2020. 

Her experience spans a broad range of public and private companies, from the Fortune 100 to a $30M stage start-up. She has also held senior management roles at F5 Networks, Inc., Cisco Systems and Alkira, Inc., a cloud-native software start-up in San Jose, California where she served as CMO. Sangeeta holds MBAs from the Wharton School of Business, University of Pennsylvania, and the Symbiosis Institute of Management at Pune, India.
Dr John Bates

Dr. John Bates

Independent Non-Executive Director

John joined the Board on May 31, 2019 and is a member of the Nomination Committee and Remuneration Committee. He is currently Chief Executive Officer of Eggplant, which specializes in AI-powered software test automation. 

Previously John pioneered the space of streaming analytics as Co-founder, President, and Chief Technology Officer of Apama (now part of Software AG). He drove the evolution of platforms for digital business while serving as Executive Vice President of Corporate Strategy and Chief Technology Officer at NASDAQ-listed Progress Software and as Chief Technology Officer of Big Data, Head of Industry Solutions, and Chief Marketing Officer at Frankfurt-listed Software AG. As Chief Executive Officer at Plat.One (acquired by SAP in 2016), he drove the commercial development of platforms to support internet-of-things applications. 

John holds a doctorate in computer science from Cambridge University and is the author of the book "Thingalytics: Smart Big Data Analytics for the Internet of Things.”

Photo of Jonathan Bewes

Jonathan Bewes

Independent Non-Executive director

Jonathan was appointed to the Board on April 1, 2019 and is Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee. Since April 2017, he has been Vice Chairman, Corporate and Institutional Banking at Standard Chartered Bank, and he has been a member of the Board at Next plc since October 2016, where he chairs the Audit Committee.

Jonathan became a Chartered Accountant with KPMG and spent 25 years in investment banking with Robert Fleming, UBS, and Bank of America Merrill Lynch. As a senior banker, he has provided advice to the boards of many UK and overseas companies on a wide range of financial, strategic, and governance issues. Jonathan is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of England and Wales.
Photo of Annette Court

Annette Court

Independent Non-Executive Director

Annette was appointed to the Board on 1 April, 2019, and is Chair of the Remuneration Committee and a member of the Audit and Risk Committee. Anette has been Chairman of Admiral Group since 2017 and a Board member since 2012.

Between 2007 and 2010, she was CEO of Europe General Insurance for Zurich Financial Services. She is the former CEO of the Direct Line Group (formerly known as RBS Insurance) and has previously served as a member on the Board of the Association of British Insurers (ABI). She was a Non-Executive Director of Foxtons Group plc from August 2013 to May 2017.

Drummond Hall

Independent Non-Executive Director

Drummond joined the Board on January 1, 2014, and is a member of the Remuneration, Audit, and Nomination Committees.

Previously, Drummond was the Senior Independent Non-Executive Director of WH Smith plc and FirstGroup plc, Non-Executive Director then Chairman of Mitchells & Butlers plc, and Chief Executive of Dairy Crest Group plc, prior to which the majority of his career was spent with Procter and Gamble, Mars, and PepsiCo.

Irana Wasti

Independent Non-Executive Director

Irana joined the Board on May 1, 2020. She is the President of GoDaddy EMEA, where she drives international growth by enabling everyday entrepreneurs to start, grow, and run their businesses online. 

Prior to this role, she was SVP and General Manager of GoDaddy’s Productivity business, where she led teams that provide small businesses with tools and services to help run their ventures. Irina previously worked for Intuit, where she oversaw the launch of QuickBooks POS with Mobile Payments integration, enabling more than 200,000 merchants to “go mobile.” She has also held product and development roles at Google and IBM.